Everything You Need To Know About Foreclosure Law

« Back to Home

Three Common Worker's Compensation Claim Mistakes

Posted on

If you have been injured on the job, you may be entitled to receive benefits from your employer's worker's compensation insurance company. If you have a valid claim, not only will they pay for your time you miss from work, but they will pay for your medical treatment and more. Unfortunately, you may have difficulty receiving any of the benefits you are entitled to if you make any of the following mistakes.

Failing To Report Your Injury

The first thing that you must do following any accident or injury you may incur is to make sure that you report it to your employer. You may feel that if you do not require any type of treatment at the time, it is not important to notify anyone, but unfortunately, your condition can get progressively worse over time. Some companies require that any accident or injuries be reported by the end of the shift in which they happen, while others may give you 30 to 60 days. 

Once you report it to your employer, for you to be paid, a claim must be filed with the worker's compensation insurance company. The amount of time you have to file your claim with worker's comp is determined by your state's statutes of limitations. Although most of these range from 1 to 2 years, they can vary greatly. For example, you must report within 30 days in Alaska but you have up to 5 years in Hawaii. Make sure that you know and follow the requirements that have been established by your employer, as well as your state. 

Not Documenting All Of The Details Of Your Accident

As time goes on, it is easy to forget the exact details of how, what, when, and where everything took place. Take the time to document all of the facts that are involved in your accident. Fill out your employer's accident and injury report in detail. Collect contact information from any witnesses who may have been present when it happened. Consider asking them to write a brief statement, or fill out a witness statement of what they saw. Some employers require these witness statements to be attached to your worker's compensation claim. If possible consider using your cell phone to shoot video of the area in which the accident or injury occurred.

Failing To Consult A Worker's Compensation Attorney

While you may not need the services of a worker's compensation lawyer for simple worker's compensation claims, serious or complex claims will benefit from the expertise that a lawyer will lend. Most worker's compensation lawyers will review your case for free and advise you on whether or not their services will benefit you. Call immediately for an appointment. You can also click here to find more info about how to handle your claim.